City of London Law Society - Corporate Crime and Corruption Committee

Minutes of a meeting of the 11 December 2018 at Reed Smith, The Broadgate Tower, 20 Primrose Street, London, EC2A 2RS

Present:

Eoin O'Shea (Chair): Reed Smith Alistair Graham: Mayer Brown Barry Vitou: Greenberg Traurig Daren Allen: Dentons UKMEA

David Hobart: City of London Law Society

Davina Given: RPC

Eve Giles Allen & Overy

Jeremy Summers: Osborne Clarke Jonathan Cotton: Slaughter & May

Judith Seddon: *Ropes & Gray* Louise Hodges: *Kingsley Napley*

Matthew Getz: *Boies, Schiller & Flexner*Michelle de Kluyver: *Addleshaw Goddard*

Neill Blundell: Macfarlanes

Nick Benwell: Simmons & Simmons

Omar Qureshi: CMS Cameron McKenna

Rodney Warren: Warren's Law and Advocacy

Roger Best: Clifford Chance

Sacha Harber-Kelly: Gibson Dun & Crutcher

Sam Eastwood: Norton Rose Sarah Wallace: Irwin Mitchell

Sara Teasdale: *Bryne and Partners* Satnam Tumani: *Kirkland & Ellis*

Simon Joyston-Bechal: *Turnstone Law* Stephen Gentle: *Simmons & Simmons*

Susannah Cogman: Herbert Smith Freehills

Tony Woodcock: Stephenson Harwood

In attendance:

Kevin Hart: CLLS

Catherine Lewis: Reed Smith

Apologies:

Andrew Keltie: Baker & Mckenzie

Angela Pearson: Ashurst

Arnondo Chakrabarti: Allen & Overy

Barry Donnelly: Macfarlanes

Caroline Wojtylak: Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom

David Corker: *Corker Binning*Jonathan Pickworth: *White & Case*

Louise Delahunty: Cooley

Marcus Thompson: Kirkland & Ellis

Ryan Junck: Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom

Satindar Dogra: Linklaters

1. Lisa Osofsky, Director, Serious Fraud Office

Ms Osofsky, Director and Camilla da Silva, Head of Bribery and Corruption, at the Serious Fraud Office attended the first part of the meeting at the invitation of the Chair. There was a wide-ranging discussion between members and guests relating to the role and future of the SFO and various legal and practical issues relating to its work.

2. Apologies

The Chair mentioned apologies received for non-attendance.

3. Minutes of the last meeting

The Minutes of the last meeting (30 October 2018) were approved. The Chair directed that the Minutes be filed on the CLLS website 24 hours after the meeting, subject to Committee members sending any final comments on the draft.

4. Practice / Legal updates

There was a discussion between members of various cases.

5. Upcoming consultations / legislation

There was a discussion of the upcoming London International Disputes Week - https://lidw.co.uk/ which is being supported by CLLS.

6. S.2 practices (other)

The Chair explained that s.2 interview practices was a standing agenda item and he encouraged those in attendance to share (on an anonymous basis) any recent experiences of s.2 interviews and in particular any poor practices by investigators. The Committee agreed to, amongst other things, set up a working group to consider making representations to the SFO regarding interview good practice including attendances at interviews and the use of undertakings. Louise Hodges, Jeremy Summers, Sacha Harber-Kelly and Satnam Tumani agreed to form the working-group.

7. External Guest Speakers

External guest speakers for 2019 were discussed and the Chair agreed to consider the names put forward and approach the relevant individuals as appropriate.

8. 2019 Meeting Dates.

The following meeting dates for 2019 were proposed and approved: Tuesday 29 January, Tuesday 12 March, Tuesday 23 April, Tuesday 4 June, Tuesday 16 July, Tuesday 10 September, Tuesday 29 October, Tuesday 10 December.

9. AOB

It was noted that CMS Cameron McKenna Nabarro Olswang is hosting a post-Brexit lunch event on 7 and 10 May 2019.